WakeWorld

WakeWorld (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/index.php)
-   Archive through April 21, 2006 (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=320404)
-   -   Rockford Fosgate/Install Edge Line Driver (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/showthread.php?t=317832)

jroyal 04-17-2006 6:40 AM

Has anyone heard of this line driver made by Rockford Fosgate/Install Edge? I can't find any specs on it and wanted to know if anyone knows anything about it. Thanks. <BR> <BR><a href="http://www.installedge.com/products/product_details.jsp?productID=1113" target="_blank">http://www.installedge.com/products/product_details.jsp?productID=1113</a> <BR> <BR><img src="http://www.wakeworld.com/MB/Discus/messages/65921/317833.jpg" alt="Upload"> <BR> <BR>(Message edited by jroyal on April 17, 2006)

jroyal 04-17-2006 11:00 AM

I found out this line driver only adds up to 4 volts. I was looking for around 8 volts.

cyclonecj 04-17-2006 12:12 PM

For that, you need a full sized preamp. It has to have a switching power supply to get up to 8 vac with 12vdc in. <BR> <BR>I used a Planet Audio pld-6, six channel preamp with 8vac out. 3 stereo pairs, boat tower sub<IMG SRC="http://www.wakeworld.com/MB/Discus/clipart/happy.gif" ALT=":-)" BORDER=0> Actually around 10 vac on the bench, it puts out. I found one on Ebay for 40$ plus shipping. <BR> <BR>Here's one on there now. <BR> <BR><a href="http://cgi.ebay.com/PLANET-AUDIO-6CH-LINE-DRIVER-6-CHANNEL-NEW_W0QQitemZ9712563381QQcategoryZ14932QQrdZ1QQcmd ZViewItem" target="_blank">http://cgi.ebay.com/PLANET-AUDIO-6CH-LINE-DRIVER-6-CHANNEL-NEW_W0QQitemZ9712563381QQcategoryZ14932QQrdZ1QQcmd ZViewItem</a>

grant_west 04-17-2006 4:01 PM

That PA looks good I would stay away from cheep ling drivers you dont want to send a powerfull crappy signal to your amp's IMO stick to th e Audio control or the PG line Drivers

cyclonecj 04-17-2006 5:36 PM

I had the same concern when I bought it, so I put the planet audio one on the bench and put a sine wave in from a calibrated sig generator, tested THD by comparing the input to the output with a dual channel scope. It is good 2 go. It's cheap because it's a closeout, they quit making them. Not many people need that many channels. List price was 250$ or so originally. <BR> <BR>It is big, it is about 12"x 12", it's built in an amp chassis.

wakeprodigy 04-17-2006 6:57 PM

Psyclone, can you calculate THD without looking at the harmonic content from the output of the DUT and comparing it to the fundamental frequency used to excite the device? Or do you have a fancy scope that will measure it for you? <BR> <BR>(Message edited by WakeProdigy on April 17, 2006)

cyclonecj 04-18-2006 5:52 AM

My scope does it

jroyal 04-18-2006 6:09 AM

Thanks for the advice. I bought the Audio Contol Overdrive before I got Psyclones' advice. <BR> <BR>I decided to get one because apparently my XMD1 doesn't hardly put out any voltage when my IPod is plugged through the CD changer input. I have the gain turned up all the way on all 3 of my amps and I can turn up the volume all the way on the XMD1 and the Ipod. I doesn't distort at all (which is wierd.) I hoping the line driver will give me more volume. <BR> <BR>Thanks again.

wakeprodigy 04-18-2006 6:11 AM

Very nice. I need to uprgrade my scope. I'm still stuck using a spectrum analyzer. <BR> <BR>(Message edited by wakeprodigy on April 18, 2006)

cyclonecj 04-18-2006 10:57 AM

You can also do it with LabView or Matlab, that's (a little) cheaper and more useful than a big ass scope!! <BR> <BR>I was originally going to get an Audiocontrol Matrix, but three different vendors cancelled the order, I think they were having manufacturing problems or something. For 1/4 the cost, I figured I'd try the planet audio. Works great so far.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 6:49 AM.