WakeWorld

WakeWorld (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/index.php)
-   Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3183)
-   -   Wetsounds Threesome vs. 2 pair of WS 696's (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/showthread.php?t=787668)

talltigeguy 05-19-2011 7:30 PM

Wetsounds Threesome vs. 2 pair of WS 696's

I have a tower with 4 Titan 6 X 9 pods on it with Focal speakers in them. They sound quite reasonable for sure, but I am generally looking for a bit more.

My background is that I have wakeboarded behind boats with a pair of WS 485's, a pair of pro 60's and 80's. I have owned a pair of NVS Tyrants. So I have some background with this stuff.

The goal here is to hear things well while wakeboarding, and for the kids to hear things well when .... (gulp!) tubing or other activities.

Because of the rounded bar on the Titan tower, a pair of 485's would look stoopid to me. They would be tilted and I don't like that. So I am contemplating putting WS 696's in the current cans. Omar at Wetsounds states that he has been very impressed with them, and that they can produce as much or more midbass than the Pro 80's. I would power them with a SYN2 to give them adequate power. It just seems that I have not heard much in the way of reviews on the 696's and would like to hear someone's thoughts who has actually heard them.

The other option is to go big with a threesome and a SYN6. It would cost substantially more, but clearly this puts me close to the king of the lake in my little universe. That would be fun, but might be overkill. I think I know what I am getting into with a threesome, but just stating what other options might be available to me. Anything more costly than that would be out of price range.

Thoughts anyone?

mikeski 05-19-2011 11:04 PM

If you already have the cans I would go with the 696's.

wake26 05-20-2011 6:09 AM