WakeWorld

WakeWorld (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/index.php)
-   Archive through May 04, 2005 (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=227721)
-   -   Vdrive vs Direct Drive (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/showthread.php?t=220410)

______ 04-01-2005 3:00 PM

Hey, <BR>sorry if this sounds stupid, but im kinda new with boats... Whats the differences between direct drive and vdrive? What benefits come with having a Vdrive over a direct drive? <BR>Thanks for the input...

puckinshat 04-01-2005 3:24 PM

dd is where the engine is in the middle of the boat and a straight line from the crankshat, to the tranny, to the drive shaft to the prop. Advantages is a better ski wake and eaisier access to the engine and drive components. <BR> <BR>vdrive is where the engine is the the rear of the boat. From the cranshaft to the tranny is a striaght shot going towards the front of the boat, then after the tranny, it goes to the v-drive unit which then puts the power towards the rear of the boat and into the drive shaft then prop. So the drivetrain looks like a sideways V, thus the term v-drive. The adv of a vdrive is a better wakeboarding wake and more wide open interior. <BR> <BR>Its all personal prefence on which boat you want and what you are going to use it for. I love my DD but have never been behind a v-drive so im not sure which wake is really better. My advice is go test drive what you are thinking of buying, make sure you ride behind it and figure out exactly what you want.

______ 04-01-2005 5:55 PM

Thanks for the <u>great</u> explanation....

toyotafreak 04-02-2005 1:12 AM