WakeWorld

WakeWorld (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/index.php)
-   Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3183)
-   -   Has this boat motor seen salt water? (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/showthread.php?t=791635)

JoLo_Si 01-28-2012 6:33 AM

Has this boat motor seen salt water?

4 Attachment(s)
Has this '85 SN2001 motor been in salt water, I have no experience with it myself.

It has a monster tower, plumbed custom hard ballast tank, perfect pass and a near new interior for 6.5K? If it's been in salt should I go for 4K or just let it go?

snork 01-28-2012 6:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JoLo_Si (Post 1728530)
Has this '85 SN2001 motor been in salt water, I have no experience with it myself.

It has a monster tower, plumbed custom hard ballast tank, perfect pass and a near new interior for 6.5K? If it's been in salt should I go for 4K or just let it go?

Looks like it could use some pepper:D
If the engine was flushed with fresh water after every use it could be ok
How many hours?

JoLo_Si 01-28-2012 7:04 AM

I don't know the hours?

nautiquesonly 01-28-2012 8:43 AM

Is that the original trailer? If it is and its made of steel tube it would more than likely be pretty bad if it had been in salt. To me the engine looks a little rough. Is it a Florida boat? That corrosion could be from salt in the air alone even if boat wasn't was not used in salt. Personally I think the trailer should tell u what you need to know based on its condition if its original. I don't have a lot of experience with salt. That aside, the interior looks great.

diamonddad 01-28-2012 9:47 AM

That 26 year old boat makes a great wake on very little fuel.

The alternator looks worked but that should be easy to replace if needed. How does it run?

snork 01-28-2012 10:19 AM