WakeWorld

WakeWorld (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/index.php)
-   Video and Photography (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=87667)
-   -   Gopro + editing + apple + ipad???>? (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/showthread.php?t=786191)

stuey 03-02-2011 7:45 PM

Gopro + editing + apple + ipad???>?

I'm a little new to videoing world so excuse my ignorance...

Got a gopro HD. love it... be using it for lots of snowboarding so far and can't wait to use it on the water this summer.

Problem is, my PC is a few years old and doesn't seem to be capable enough to edit video... takes me forever. I also don't really know what I'm doing (was just trying windows movie maker).

I have some friends with Apples and it seems so easy with imovie. I don't really need or want to buy a whole new computer JUST for the sake of video editing, but I'm seeing on the ipad 2 they will come with imovie.

So my question is... is Gopro files compatible with Apple & Ipad? Like could I just take the footage, upload to an ipad with the USB camera adapter? Then I could just use the imovie software to edit?

I am only doing this for personal use so I don't really want to get into the more advanced editing features and all that jazz. Just want to cut and edit some cool vids for fun and put them to music.

Am I crazy? Or am I just making an excuse to go buy a new ipad? lol..

Thanks for your help..

skull 03-03-2011 2:22 PM

When using a Go Pro you need to take the files from the Go Pro onto the hard drive, THEN into iMovie. If you go directly from the SD card to iMovie only 1/2 of the clip will be visible. This is a known problem with Go Pro and iMovie (not sure when software you are using).

gotwake133 03-07-2011 9:36 AM

I had no problems putting in my videos from the go-pro straight into imove from SD card.

stuey 03-07-2011 9:36 PM