Malibu Stock Stereo wiring question Log Out | Topics | Search | Register | Edit Profile | User List
Last Day | Last Week | Tree View | Moderators | Help/Instructions
WakeWorld Discussion Board » >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive » Archive through February 10, 2003 » Malibu Stock Stereo wiring question « Previous Next »
By LSVLance (lsvlance) on Tuesday, January 28, 2003 - 12:17 pm:    Edit Post Delete Post
I know I've hashed this out on here before but I can't find the thread in the archives, so here it goes.

My LSV came with the JVC head unit, 160 watt amp and 6 infinity speakers. I have a hard time getting the fader adjusted to where it is comfortable for everyone in the boat, usually the dash speakers are way overpowering the rears (we hardly ever have anyone riding in the bow).

I'm a stereo novice, but I think that I understand that putting 4 speakers on one set of outputs cuts the power in half to each of the speakers. If that's the case, would my system benefit from unhooking the bow speakers and putting just the dash speakers on the front outputs and the rear speakers on the rear outputs?

Another question, when I pulled the head unit out of the armrest last night, I noticed RCA jacks for the speakers (which are currently running to the amp) and also a set of outputs on a wire which I assume are preouts for an amp. Which is the best way to connect the head unit to the amp?

By John Klein (jklein) on Tuesday, January 28, 2003 - 1:23 pm:    Edit Post Delete Post
You're onto it.

There's three sets of outputs and you only get to use two at a time:

1. The RCA
2. Front Speakers from the wiring harness
3. Rear Speakers from the wiring harness

Because your Head Unit has only 1 RCA output, Malibu splits the signal out of the RCA output and plumbs it into the AMP RCA inputs and drives all of the speakers though the single RCA output signal on the head unit, so you get L and R balance, but you don't get F and R fading.