Difference in HP on engines with the ... Log Out | Topics | Search | Register | Edit Profile | User List
Last Day | Last Week | Tree View | Moderators | Help/Instructions
WakeWorld Discussion Board » >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive » Archive through February 10, 2003 » Difference in HP on engines with the same block « Previous Next »
By Fredrik Broen (fbroen) on Wednesday, January 22, 2003 - 7:38 am:    Edit Post Delete Post
At the Baltimore boat show last weekend, I looked at a Supra SSV, Nautique 210, and Mastercraft X2. It is my understanding that all three of these boats use the same GM 350 block, but the Supra has 320 HP, the 210 has 330 HP, and the X2 has 310. What is that accounts for this difference in horsepower?

By swass (swass) on Wednesday, January 22, 2003 - 7:41 am:    Edit Post Delete Post
I'm no mechanic, but it could just be a performance cam, etc.

By Jeff Guilford (fogey) on Wednesday, January 22, 2003 - 8:55 am:    Edit Post Delete Post
One major difference is carburetion vs. throttle-body injection (TBI) vs. multi-port injection (MPI). The latter provides better fuel delivery and more horsepower.

Other differences that can affect horsepower and torque include:

1. Cylinder head port size & configuration and valve size.

2. Piston design and combustion chamber configuration.

3. Valve timing (i.e., camshaft lobe profiles and separation).

4. Compression ratio (although most marine 350s seem to have the same CRs?)

5. Ignition timing & ECU program.

And, of course, there are two "350s" available. One is the old SBC while the other is the newer engine in late model Camaros/Firebirds (RIP) and Corvettes (LT1? Help me out here, Chevy guys).