are macerator pumps reversible? Log Out | Topics | Search | Register | Edit Profile | User List
Last Day | Last Week | Tree View | Moderators | Help/Instructions
WakeWorld Discussion Board » >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive » Archive through February 10, 2003 » are macerator pumps reversible? « Previous Next »
By TY (typhoon) on Wednesday, December 04, 2002 - 7:04 am:    Edit Post Delete Post
I was looking at a jabsco macerator pump:
can they be wired to be reversible?
it is 720 gph and ignition safe so it interests me.

thanks

By Stan Tannner (sbt3) on Wednesday, December 04, 2002 - 12:09 pm:    Edit Post Delete Post
i am not sure it looks like it has some kind of run dry prevention device. This may effect being able to run it in reverse. Otherwise it looks like it would work. I have a simer blue water 12 pump that I know works I have been using it for 2 years now with no problems. They are also a lot cheaper. I got mine for $52 from a local store. They also sell the spare impellers for $7. The website is www.simerpumps.com the pump is Model BW8512: under the utility pumps.

By TY (typhoon) on Wednesday, December 04, 2002 - 12:19 pm:    Edit Post Delete Post
I cannot find any like that around here. I have looked at that pump. My only problem is that you cannot mount that pump in an engine compartment and it cannot get wet.

By Mark Bellaver (markb) on Wednesday, December 04, 2002 - 1:28 pm:    Edit Post Delete Post
Stan - So, the pump you are suggesting (BW8512) is reversable? Is it self priming?

Mark

By Stan Tannner (sbt3) on Wednesday, December 04, 2002 - 2:48 pm:    Edit Post Delete Post