1st Winterization on X-10, Drain Q... Log Out | Topics | Search | Register | Edit Profile | User List
Last Day | Last Week | Tree View | Moderators | Help/Instructions
WakeWorld Discussion Board » >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive » Archive through January 14, 2005 » 1st Winterization on X-10, Drain Questons « Previous Next »
By jaspav (pav) on Tuesday, December 14, 2004 - 6:26 am:    Edit Post Delete Post
I have winterized my previous boats and had no problems, but this is my first year with the X-10 (2001 model) I have never had a boat with ballasts & showers & such.

Just a couple of questions:

How many engine drain plugs? (Where)

Any draining required on ballast or showers? (where)

Any secret hard to find drain plugs that will bite me next summer?

Any help is greatly appreciated. Pav

By Pat Borowski (bambamski) on Tuesday, December 14, 2004 - 7:39 am:    Edit Post Delete Post
Pav,

I let a mechanic do my old 2001 X-10 when I first got it and they still screwed up the ballast. There are three plastic valves that contol the water flow for each ballast tank. Make sure you get all the water out of these valves or they will crack and sink your boat in the spring! Talking from experience, when these babies crack it's like having three holes in your boat, my pump could barely keep up with the amount of water that was coming into the boat. It was kind of funny, I think my boat drained when we got it out for a good 30 minutes or so.

You have to winterize your shower, and if you have a heater, you need to make sure your heater core under the dash of the boat is also taken care of. $300 dollars is about what it cost me to winterized my boat, includes oil and tranny change. That way if something is screwed up the dealer or Mechanic is on the hook for damages.

By jaspav (pav) on Wednesday, December 15, 2004 - 6:05 am:    Edit Post Delete Post