Issue with drop in voltage when runni... Log Out | Topics | Search | Register | Edit Profile | User List
Last Day | Last Week | Tree View | Moderators | Help/Instructions
WakeWorld Discussion Board » >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive » Archive through January 14, 2005 » Issue with drop in voltage when running pump « Previous Next »
By Nate (norcalmalibu) on Monday, September 27, 2004 - 10:17 pm:    Edit Post Delete Post
In my 89 skier, I have a reverse pump for my ballast system. This problem gets worse everytime I go out. When I hit the switch to pump it out nothing happens and the voltage almost goes to 0. One time i left it with it on as the voltage was pegged and a wire almost caught on fire started smoking. I have sense added another battery and the problem is still there. To get it to work I usualy shut the boat off turn it back on and flip the switch up and down from fill to drain back and forth and sometimes it turns on. Im not that good with electrical so any ideas on how to get this pump to turn on everytime without melting wires would be great thanks
nate

By Doug Gierosky (d_fresh) on Tuesday, September 28, 2004 - 4:20 am:    Edit Post Delete Post
Not knowing your set up, it's difficult to diagnose the problem. Are you controlling the motor current through switches, or relays? What gauge wire are you using? Do you have any pics?

By teddy (amixman) on Tuesday, September 28, 2004 - 6:22 am:    Edit Post Delete Post
nate u either have a failing pump or a short in the wite i would think the former because a short doesent go away after u flip the switch, either way u have serious elect hazard that u need to fix before u use it again!!!!

unplug the pump turn the switch on if your gauge doesent do anything change your pump and the melted wire, if it pers on 0 start hunting 4 a short

By Rod McInnis (rodmcinnis) on Tuesday, September 28, 2004 - 10:25 am:    Edit Post Delete Post
Nate: