Starting problem when boat is hot. 8... Log Out | Topics | Search | Register | Edit Profile | User List
Last Day | Last Week | Tree View | Moderators | Help/Instructions
WakeWorld Discussion Board » >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive » Archive through January 14, 2005 » Starting problem when boat is hot. 88 MC w/351W « Previous Next »
By Stan Tannner (sbt3) on Wednesday, September 22, 2004 - 2:15 pm:    Edit Post Delete Post
I have a 88 mastercraft with the 351w engine and it doesn't want to start when it is hot. When I first get in the boat and start it it fires up first try with no problems at all. Once the boat is hot if you turn it off for like 1-2 seconds it starts back up no problem. If it sits more than a few seconds it doesn't want to fire back up. It will turn over fine but doesn't start. Sometimes if I turn it over for a few seconds and then let off of the key it will start up even though it didn't sound like it was firing yet, kind of hard to explain that one.I thought maybe it wasn't turning over good enough so I replaced the battery with a 800cca battery and still the same thing. Here are a few other things I have tried and still no sucess.

Replace points with solid state ignition.

Check timing and tried different timing settings when it is hot and having a problem starting.

Replaced fuel filter.

Vent is working on gas tank.

Tried adjusting the card fuel/air screws.

Choke is fine on the carb.

My next tries are going to be replace the plug wires, cap and rotor even though they look ok. Then maybe the coil, then if that doesn't work try rebuilding the carb.

If anyone has any other ideas I would appreciate it, this is driving me insane. It was running totally fine and then all of a sudden one day it started acting up.
Thanks
Stan

By michale detillion (michale) on Wednesday, September 22, 2004 - 2:55 pm:    Edit Post Delete Post
my boat did the same thing.turns out it was the coil.go figure.