HELP - Tow Rope fraying at Tower Pylon Log Out | Topics | Search | Register | Edit Profile | User List
Last Day | Last Week | Tree View | Moderators | Help/Instructions
WakeWorld Discussion Board » >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive » Archive through April 01, 2004 » HELP - Tow Rope fraying at Tower Pylon « Previous Next »
By Scott Drews (wakeclt) on Monday, March 22, 2004 - 9:42 am:    Edit Post Delete Post
I have a 2000 Mastercraft X-Star. Where the pylon is on the tower to attach the rope there is a "free-rotating" plastic cylinder to protect the rope from rubbing and fraying. However, the rope moves down to the weld holding the pylon on the tower. Any suggestions on how to keep the rope from rubbing on this weld point??

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

desktop/DSCN0512.jpg

desktop/DSCN0513.jpg

By andrew zarlengo (colorider) on Monday, March 22, 2004 - 9:50 am:    Edit Post Delete Post
I had the exact same problem. Here is what I did. I heated up the pvc cylinder (bottom part) and flared it so it goes over that weld crap. That way, the rope stays on the plastic rather then creaping down to the metal. To flare it out, I jammed a golf ball in the end while the plastic was hot and waited for it to cool down before taking it out. Golf ball fits perfect. Only stick the golfball in halfway, use a clamp to hold it there. When it cools, the ball just falls out and your plastic has a nice flare to it. Hope this helps

By Salmon Tacos (salmon_tacos) on Monday, March 22, 2004 - 9:54 am:    Edit Post Delete Post
Have you contacted Mastercraft? I can't believe how crappy that design is, with nothing to keep the rope up off the weld. Maybe they have an updated sleeve or something. Or can you just bolt an entirely new piece on there?