AGM Battery Swap out Log Out | Topics | Search | Register | Edit Profile | User List
Last Day | Last Week | Tree View | Moderators | Help/Instructions
WakeWorld Discussion Board » Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles » Archive through June 28, 2009 » AGM Battery Swap out « Previous Next »
By "G" (grant_west) on Wednesday, May 20, 2009 - 10:27 pm:    Edit Post Delete Post
I have been running West Marine Sea Volt Battery's for 3 years now. Just recently I have noticed that the battery's are not holding a charge like they used to. I had asked around to try and decide if I should go with a different battery. Kenitic, Odyssey, Stinger ect. It's hard to make a choice about a battery from other peoples stories because everyone's system demands are different. Mike used to run 6v golf carts. He switched over to Kinetics. He said that he didn't think the Kinetics were any better than the golf carts so they were out. I started thinking. Maybe it's better to go with what you know than to try a new battery thatís more $ and is no better than what you had. So after doing some checking around I decided to stick with the West Marine Sea Volts. They have a 5 year pro rated warranty. So I still had some equity in the 5 old batteries. I took them back to West Marine and It turns out the old battery's were worth like $75 each. With my port supply discount the batteries ended up costing like $158 each. The original batteries were 92 Amp hrs each. The new battery's are 105 Amp hrs each and are just slightly longer by like 1 1/2 inches longer. When you add up all 5 battery's at 105 Amp hrs im getting an extra 65 amp hrs (that's more than 1 blue top optima) just by going from group 27 to group 31.
Here are some picks of the bats. The last 2 cell phone picks are of the original 92 amp hr battery next to the new larger 105 Amp hr battery. You can see the size difference between the 2.
Upload
Upload
Upload
Upload